4. The United States of America Is Called Many Names

On September 9, 1776, the name of the “United Colonies” was officially changed to the “United States of America” by the Second Continental Congress. The name United States of America has stayed in use as a symbol of freedom and independence ever since.

The term “Uncle Sam” was first used in reference to the United States of America on September 7, 1813. Samuel Wilson was a meat packer from Troy, New York, who was acknowledged for his part in supplying the U.S. Army with beef in barrels during the War of 1812.

The United States of America is commonly abbreviated to “America.” The Americas are the collective name for the entire American continent, including North, South and Central America.


The original name of the United States of America was United Colonies.

Following Vespucci’s recognition in the late 15th century that a new continent had been discovered as a result of Christopher Columbus’s and subsequent voyages, Waldseemüller dubbed the newly discovered lands “America” on his map in 1507.

The other names of United States of America are: Uncle Sam, America, Land of Liberty, New World, U.S., U.S.A., Land of Opportunity, The States, the Land of the Free, and the Great Experiment.

0 CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment